Skip to content

Hungry For More

September 8, 2012

Back when I was writing my last blog post I was in the phase of getting back into shape from being completely out of shape.  It’s not my favorite time of season because everything feels awkward and uncomfortable.  But now I have moved on!  I am fit again and working on building fitness.  I love this new phase in training.  Every week I can see improvements and I feel like my hard work is paying off.  My goal of trying to get my rhythm back has transitioned to staying injury free and putting the work in the bank.  Not much racing is going on, just some fun relays and races like Zilker Relays and the Grass Routes Festival.  This is a time for solid uninterrupted training.  Sometimes it can be hard staying focused on a race 3 months away, but being on a team fixes that problem.

I hungry to increase my training volume and push my limits.  I’m hungry for competition again.  And I’m hungry for food! Probably the hardest part of putting in the mileage and moderate workouts is the constant ravenous feeling.  I know I’m working hard when I never stop thinking about food.  My daily meals just aren’t cutting it anymore so making sure I am getting enough protein is really important right now.  So I wanted to share an awesome recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks.  It’s actually a children’s book that focuses on a paleo diet called “How to Eat Like a Dinosaur”.  It pretty awesome because they are fast and easy recipes that are are gluten and dairy free.  This recipe is one of my go-to’s right now when I have a sweet craving but don’t want to feel bad about what I’m eating:

***some tips, cooking time was a lot shorter than what the recipe called for, I only cooked mine for 20min, watch so it doesn’t burn!  Also you can mix and match fruits and nuts.  I made it with raspberries and blackberries and pecans and it was a tasty way to switch it up***

CHERRY MACADAMIA CRUMBLE
Serves 10
We love cherry picking! After climbing the trees and picking these little cute gems, making this delicious dessert is the perfect way to end the day. It’s even better with our Honey Nut Ice Cream (p. 237) on top!
We use a cherry pitter (we got ours at the dollar store) to remove the seeds of the cherries when we get home from the farm. Then we freeze them for summer-fresh cherries all year long!
INGREDIENTS
5 C frozen tart cherries
¾ C dates, diced finely and separated
½ C maple syrup
¼ C palm shortening or butter
2 Tbsp honey
2 eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1 C coconut flour
1 C raw macadamia nuts, chopped
1 Tbsp and 1 tsp cinnamon, separated
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
½ C coconut oil
½ tsp nutmeg
INSTRUCTIONS AND HOW KIDS CAN HELP
Combine cherries, ½ cup dates, and maple syrup in mixing bowl—be sure to break up any date or cherry clumps.
Spread cherry mixture into greased 9-by-13-inch baking dish.
Beat palm shortening, ¼ cup dates, and honey together.
Add eggs and whip until thoroughly combined.
In separate bowl, whisk together flour, macadamia nuts, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.
Slowly add mixed dry ingredients into wet until a crumbly mixture forms.
Sprinkle crumble over cherry mixture in the baking dish.
Mix coconut oil with remaining teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg; drizzle over top of crumble.
9. Bake at 350 degrees for 45–60 minutes (fresh cherries may take longer than 45 minutes).
Comments are closed.

