Skip to content

Ailments by Chris Gowell

November 28, 2012

As the team prepares for club cross, it’s been pretty exciting among the group. Many are running with supreme confidence and workouts have been going well, despite being on the sidelines. I can’t wait to see what the team does. Heads will roll, nipples will harden, and mouths will salivate.

As an update to myself:

General ailments

Last week was my first week back from injury with no ‘injury specific’ pain, other than the unrelenting onset of ageism. At 27, I’m no longer a spring chicken, and each step takes its toll that much more. Years of running endless miles on diamond like surfaces have etched their way into my cranking bones with absolutely no complimentary factors coming from my joints or periphery muscles.

My walk the toilet each morning (after 1.5 cups of coffee) creeks a little more, it takes a little longer, the process is just that little bit more animated.

I forget things every day. Simple things, like my keys. I’ll look endlessly for my shoes even though I’m wearing them, I forget my age. Am I 27? Who am i?

Life

If I go to bed later than 10pm, the next day is a write off, I become unapproachable. I need less food, more coffee, and a steady intake of warm whiskey during the cold nights. Water gives me heartburn and my heart sporadically flutters for no reason, I get dizzy sitting down. Furthermore, grey hairs jot themselves around my body, seemingly growing overnight, with no discrimination, no shame, and no order.

Running

I’m fitter, stronger, and more fluid. My resting heart rate is undetectable on most machines. I’m the fastest I’ve ever been and I can run for however long I want. When in the running form, I’m no longer myself, things become easier, the pain stops, things become natural.

I can choose any route I want and not care when I come back, as if the moon was a flat white canvass, and Picasso himself could do what he pleased.

Things are coming together, and confidence for the oncoming onslaught looms larger.

Comments are closed.